cardoon recipes

It has a grayish-white-green flesh that is edible and it has a very refined and seductive taste. When cooked, cardoons become tender, much like an artichoke heart. I am a chef, author, and yes, hunter, angler, gardener, forager and cook.

Daily value on the new nutrition and supplement facts labels.

Soak cardoon stalks to keep from turning brown, about 10 minutes.

They're often available in the winter, sometimes lasting into the spring months. Christine Benlafquih is a freelance writer and cooking class instructor with a background in Moroccan cuisine.

Start paring at the top of the stalk and peel downward to remove the strings.

Cardoon (or celery, or artichoke heart) gratin . Place the cut pieces in the bowl of lemon water as you go, to avoid browning.

Amount will vary depending on cooking time and temperature, ingredient density, and specific type of oil used. Can’t-stop-eating-it good. These also make nice appetizers, just make them smaller. Get daily tips and expert advice to help you take your cooking skills to the next level. Hey there. We have determined the nutritional value of oil for frying based on a retention value of 10% after cooking.

Probably my favorite way to eat cardoons other than the gratin.

Now cardoons are esoteric enough to not appear in that book, but artichokes are. Squeeze the lemon juice into the water and boil the

Cardoons can be found in markets from midwinter to early spring.